DISCUSSIONS

Find the answers to many of your expat questions here

View Latest Posts

You're missing out...

As a member you can enjoy exclusive info and offers.

REGISTER NOW

Another UK newbie, hoping for help!

Posted by danno99 - Created: 9 years ago
0 0
Sorry no image available

6 replies (Showing replies: 1 to 6)

Sorry no image available
Posted by paul 008 - 9 years ago

Hi Danno

Think very hard about you working as an electrician in Cyprus.

I am a qualified british electrician living in Paphos. There are quite a few electricians living in Paphos which have been here longer then me (I have been here two years). These other sparks are established with good contacts, so it is not easy to break into the private sector ie: home owners. There is no factories in Paphos just building work (apartments and offices)

If you work for a Cypriot company the wages are no where near the money you get in the UK and I would be amazed if you got the job anyway.

It's not like the UK everything over here is a bodge job, there are few electrical wholesalers but they dont nowhere near carry the products you get back in the UK.

They sell SWA cable but you cant buy the kleats to go with it. Everything is done in plastic trunking and conduit, but you cant get all the accessories to go with it.

Oh by the way if you can put a 13 amp plug on then you are an electrian, you want to see the lash ups I have seen.

There is work out here, but take the advise of the other guy (oakland) have enough money in the bank to survive.

Kind Regards

Paul

Sorry no image available
Posted by danno99 - 9 years ago