DISCUSSIONS

Find the answers to many of your expat questions here

View Latest Posts

You're missing out...

As a member you can enjoy exclusive info and offers.

REGISTER NOW

Veterinary nurse training

Posted by bek - Created: 8 years ago
0 0
Sorry no image available

2 replies (Showing replies: 1 to 2)

Sorry no image available
Posted by Flump-668600 - 8 years ago

I also have teaching experience - I wish I knew how to get one of the colleges over there to start up animal care/veterinary nurse training courses as that would have a big impact on education re animal cruelty and would also give me a great job to relocate for (which is the reason I haven't yet as I can't afford to live on those wages alone!)

Sorry no image available
Posted by Flump-668600 - 8 years ago

Hi Rebecca

I am a Registered Veterinary Nurse in the UK but have researched this in depth as I am heavily involved with fundraising for an animal charity in Cyprus and plan to move over there eventually.

At present, there is no formal veterinary nursing training or qualification in Cyprus which is why UK nurses seem to be fairly sought after when they relocate although with salaries being what they are in Cyprus, the few practices around who are willing to pay for a qualified nurse are still only offering around half of an average UK nurse's salary and it's a notoriously underpaid job over here in the first place for the training we have undergone and the hours we are expected to work. Having said that, over the past couple of years, I have been offered 3 different jobs in practice in Cyprus, all offering around 7-800 euros per month, but I'm qualified with 23yrs experience and additional experience/qualifications in other related fields.