DISCUSSIONS

Find the answers to many of your expat questions here

View Latest Posts

You're missing out...

As a member you can enjoy exclusive info and offers.

REGISTER NOW

Carte gris

Posted by pilot-425170 - Created: 3 years ago
0 0
Sorry no image available

10 replies (Showing replies: 1 to 10)

Sorry no image available
Posted by brian2bin - 3 years ago

I would avoid getting sucked into this situation it will only bring you grief but if you enjoy that well go on go on go on.The first thing they will think is the car could be stolen ! worrying. Any money you think this buy will save will soon seem like a pittance compared to the true cost of getting this car legal.

Sorry no image available
Posted by XLR - 3 years ago

Hi. It is not legal to sell a car if you do not have the Carte Grise in your name (unless selling it to a scrapyard for destruction perhaps, but I have no experience of that).

As others have said, a seller doing so is trying to avoid paying the tax payable when requesting a new Carte Grise. Essentially it's tax avoidance on the one hand, and identity fraud on another (selling a car under the name of the previous owner).

The authorities are quite hot on it now and the penalties are very stiff. I sold a BMW to a young French guy a few years ago. Later on it emerged he had tried to sell it on to someone else, using the old barred Carte Grise and forging my signature on the 'Déclaration de cession d'un véhicule'. I was summoned to the Gendarmerie and asked to give a written statement confirming it was not my signature on the document. Fast forward 20 months (the French legal system ain't quick!) and the young guy had to face a tribunal for various violations of the law, pay a large fine and received a suspended jail sentence.