DISCUSSIONS

Find the answers to many of your expat questions here

View Latest Posts

You're missing out...

As a member you can enjoy exclusive info and offers.

REGISTER NOW

Non french registered vehicle insurance

Posted by Merckx-430083 - Created: 4 years ago
0 0
Sorry no image available

10 replies (Showing replies: 1 to 10)

Sorry no image available
Posted by walnut72 - 4 years ago

I am a french resident.

When I bought my current car in uk, generali insured it and sent me the vignette. I drove it in the uk for a couple weeks.

I was flashed by a camera apparently , later received a letter to say that I had been flagged up as having no insurance, although I had tax and Mot.

I send them a copy of my french insurance and explained that by the time the letter arrived(at the garage where I had purchased the car) I had returned to france. I had a letter back saying that was fine and no further action.

I subsequently got my quittus fiscal and went to register the car, unfortunately some information had been missed off the log book(actually an input error by the dvla)

The prefecture said that as the car was road legal in uk and as I had started the process, I could continue to drive it so long as it was rectified in a reasonable length of time.

Sorry no image available
Posted by normandyranger - 4 years ago

The insurance companies will also fall back on the small print if you are involved in a big accident where you are required to change the vehicle to french registration that you have signed and agreed to do.

Therefore if they consider it is going to cost them a lot of money you are on your own and if you injure someone you will have to pay all their costs out of your own pocket.

There are also an awful lot of prople running around on SORNs which means that you are not legal in either country.

Sorry no image available
Posted by luap1 - 4 years ago

Merckx,

Something that other posters haven't touched on....