DISCUSSIONS

Find the answers to many of your expat questions here

View Latest Posts

You're missing out...

As a member you can enjoy exclusive info and offers.

REGISTER NOW

registering old car

Posted by brionybob - Created: 3 years ago
0 0
Sorry no image available

10 replies (Showing replies: 1 to 10)

Sorry no image available
Posted by brionybob - 3 years ago

Many thanks for all your help. Our car is standard as we have owned it since it was 3 years old, so should be no problems registering it.

Sorry no image available
Posted by sanjon-627351 - 3 years ago

Hello again Anonymous,

I'm no expert, but I doubt very much whether a car as heavily modified as yours would be accepted as a 'vehicule de collection' by the FFVE and I think the only way you could register it in France would be through the French equivalent of the UK's Single Vehicle Approval test, which I understand to be very time consuming and costly.

Sorry I couldn't be more positive. Best of luck.

Regards,

John.

Sorry no image available
Posted by Anonymous - 3 years ago

OK then.  How about a Ford Pop with a Rover V8 fitted, with appropriate upgrading of suspension, brakes, and steering? 

Sorry no image available

Hi Anonymous,

I'm inclined to think that details of the modifications would be required before any worthwhile comments could be offered.

Regards,

John.

Sorry no image available
Posted by Anonymous - 3 years ago

If someone goes the FFVE route to registration is there a vehicle inspection required?  I would like to import a modified car over 30 years old but thought the French were frightened of "modified" cars and wouldn't register it.  Any thoughts?

Sorry no image available

Hi Brionybob,

If you obtained an Attestation d'Identitie from Opel (for a cost of let's say £150.00) the registration process would probably be completed by the end of April this year and you'd then be able to use your car.