DISCUSSIONS

Find the answers to many of your expat questions here

View Latest Posts

You're missing out...

As a member you can enjoy exclusive info and offers.

REGISTER NOW

Google Chromecast

Posted by JohnP-390097 - Created: 4 years ago
0 0
Sorry no image available

7 replies (Showing replies: 1 to 7)

Sorry no image available
Posted by Breeze-906262 - 4 years ago

Hi Junkaroo.  I was very interested to hear your comments on the Amazon Fire Stick.  I have just bought one and am very happy with it in the UK but was concerned I'd not be able to use it in France.  I tried to receive Amazon videos in France and had a notice saying it was for UK only.  I hear what you say about DNA - but what does it mean and how do I change mine please?

Sorry no image available
Posted by evenevenmoreantibs - 4 years ago

A Chromecast will work through a VPN, I've been using one via a VPN for a couple of years.

Sorry no image available
Posted by Freda Checks - 4 years ago

I have found that Chromecast will not work through a VPN service.

However you can change the settings on the newer "Smart" TVs (connected to the internet) to make them think they are in the UK, so that you can watch UK based BBC iPlayer and Netflix.

I have been using this service for some time and it is excellent.

It is called Unlocator and as well as changing the settings for smart TVs it is possible to change the settings for many modems and other connected devices (iPads and iPhones even Apple TV) to pick up UK (or for that matter US) programmes.

Sorry no image available
Posted by jimbo99-445600 - 4 years ago

Our chromecast dongle would only connect to a terminal / TV / computer monitor that had an HDMI connector. My current tv is so old it did not ( SCART only ). Fortunately i did have an unused computer monitor that did have that connection, so plugged dongle into that and hooked sound from monitor into my stereo system and voila! sound too.