DISCUSSIONS

Find the answers to many of your expat questions here

View Latest Posts

You're missing out...

As a member you can enjoy exclusive info and offers.

REGISTER NOW

Winter Fuel Allowance

Posted by Steve51-907091 - Created: 3 years ago
0 0
Sorry no image available

10 replies (Showing replies: 1 to 10)

Sorry no image available
Posted by tigre-979768 - 3 years ago

Yes geegee42 a complaint has been put in to the European Parliament, but it seems they are struggling to overturn this decision because of the loophole the UK Government has found regarding the Outre-Mer territories of France being still under administration rule of the mainland. I'm not sure about Spain etc. Very devious and unfair considering a lot of UK expats still pay tax in the UK, not that this should make a difference. I'm actually a permanent resident in the UK, but I think it's disgusting the way this has been handled.

Sorry no image available
Posted by geegee42 - 3 years ago

Is France the only country in Europe where the WFA has been cut or has it applied to Spain /Malta/cypress as well ,is there no appeal lodged with the European parliament as I would have thought it has effected a reasonable amount of people, Tories have a tendency to nibble and when complaints die off they nibble a bit more,they also tend to nibble away at sections who have little clout,so expect other changes its inevitable.

Sorry no image available
Posted by tigre-979768 - 3 years ago

I don't think anyone is really arguing that expats are not getting it, the point really being discussed is how the UK Government have worked out who does and does not get it, according to them it seems that the residents of mainland France  bask in a tropical climate during the Winter months, unlike Italy that don't and UK expats living there are still entitled to it.  I really thought the European Union was formed so a lot of it's residents where treated equally and fairly among other things.   

Sorry no image available