DISCUSSIONS

Find the answers to many of your expat questions here

View Latest Posts

You're missing out...

As a member you can enjoy exclusive info and offers.

REGISTER NOW

Growing potatoes, leeks and beetroot

Posted by pony1 - Created: 3 years ago
0 0
Sorry no image available

10 replies (Showing replies: 1 to 10)

Sorry no image available
Posted by countrydweller - 3 years ago

I wold leave at least 3 chits as if one dies off or something it will hold back sprouting.I live on the Monts D'Arée and the soil is quite thin so I grow all my veg in raised beds adding plenty of organic matter everything does well apart from carrots as I seem to have had the worlds population of carrot fly now living in my garden;

Sorry no image available
Posted by pony1 - 3 years ago

I am a novice vegetable grower so all information is gratefully received.  When my potato has chitted and has several sprouts can I just knock them off and keep one sprout.  Is that the best way.  I don't want more plants as I buy a 3kg bag and that does about 5 rows and that's enough work for me!  I also lay a sheet of newspaper in between rows (water it to stop it flying away!) and cover with grass cuttings which is great for keeping weeds at bay.

Sorry no image available
Posted by DrZed - 3 years ago

I tried 3 different  ways of growing tomatoes this year. In the poly tunnel, in terracota pots outside and directly into the veg patch. All got blight.

With regards to seed potatoes. Once chitted, if the potato has numerousl sprouts you can divide the potato into several pieces, each piece having a sprout. Plant them as you would the whole seed potato. They will grow and produce normally and you get more plants/potatoes for your money !

You may already know this. Not wanting to teach people to suck eggs.

Sorry no image available
Posted by andylekker - 3 years ago