DISCUSSIONS

Find the answers to many of your expat questions here

View Latest Posts

You're missing out...

As a member you can enjoy exclusive info and offers.

REGISTER NOW

how to insure moto if not French resident

Posted by I am here!!!-237894 - Created: 6 years ago
0 0
Sorry no image available

10 replies (Showing replies: 1 to 10)

Sorry no image available
Posted by Wiersbitzky-302905 - 6 years ago

As i did it : i owned a property in Antibes . I paid taxes for it . That means i was a resident , in this case a second residency . I bought a scooter in Cannes . I gave my French adress to the seller and maybe showed a 'justificativ ' a telephone or electricity-bill which had my name and French adress on it . Than he received a ' Carte gris 'maybe a temporary one from the subprefecture in Grasse and i maybe got a permanent onethere later if i didn't get a permanent one right away . On that carte gris is my name and French adress . With that i went to an insurer and got an insurance for one year .One can also insure for half a year or monthly even but one has than to insure again for the following period . I went to Swis Life insurance in Antibes who has a contract with an insurancecompany in Monaco to sell their insurance for example and i paid about 250 € . Or why not insure it in the UK and have a british licenceplate ?

Sorry no image available
Posted by Patrick71-182729 - 6 years ago

Sorry with any Euro license give them a call.

Sorry no image available
Posted by Patrick71-182729 - 6 years ago

Cabinet Limonier in Nice have no issues insuring with a UK license.

+33(0) 497 117 117

To continue the heated discussion, domicile in France is taken to mean your 'French residence'. There are thousands here of many nationalities who without legal or other worries can register their vehicles in a holiday or second home (think SW France) home address.

So you guys are saying that someone with a holiday home cannot legally register any vehicle in France