DISCUSSIONS

Find the answers to many of your expat questions here

View Latest Posts

You're missing out...

As a member you can enjoy exclusive info and offers.

REGISTER NOW

How do I set up an internet line????

Posted by Andrea71-197938 - Created: 13 years ago
0 0

I own an apartment in Juan Les Pins, but only stay in it a few weeks of the year. The rest of the time it's rented. I am planning a visit soon and I need to have a line installed to be able to do my email and surf the net. What are my options?

Don't need to make phone calls, just data only. I would rather pay a set monthly fee that's fixed and don't mind contracts as long as you get what you pay for. I don't want to change my current email address. If you can help explain the basics in blonde language, I would be most grateful. I am new to the internet and find some of the language a bit confusing!!! 

Sorry no image available

3 replies (Showing replies: 1 to 3)

Sorry no image available
Posted by rosetta-185721 - 13 years ago

Interesting - I didn't know I could suspend my wanadoo connection when I'm not here. Has anyone tried this? Am wondering how easy it is to get it suspended and put back on.

I know it's not the same but when I moved house it took four weeks to get my internet connection moved and they wanted me to pay for the four weeks when I didn't have it - cheeky!

Ro

Sorry no image available
Posted by legend_in_my_lunchtime-182603 - 13 years ago

An observant AI reader e-mailed me to point out that ADSL does exist in the non-contract "pay as you go" formula.  Well spotted!  It was Telecom Italia who were the first to offer this deal in France under the "Alice" brandname.   At 2.5 cents/minute it might be of interest for the seasonal user like Andrea but I'd be more inclined to recommend a French operator who offers free of charge the suspension of their contract Internet service during periods of absence (e.g. Wanadoo). 

Sorry no image available