DISCUSSIONS

Find the answers to many of your expat questions here

View Latest Posts

You're missing out...

As a member you can enjoy exclusive info and offers.

REGISTER NOW

Internet security

Posted by DMG-194481 - Created: 13 years ago
0 0
Sorry no image available

4 replies (Showing replies: 1 to 4)

Sorry no image available
Posted by MikeP-180526 - 13 years ago

I am not a computer expert by any means,  but I've been told that the risk of using your credit card on a (reputable) web site is negligible compared to the risk when you use it in a restaurant,  especially when they take it away from you, even momentarily,  as that is when it can be 'skimmed'.

Sorry no image available
Posted by legend_in_my_lunchtime-182603 - 13 years ago

The chances of having an otherwise undetected spyware lurking on your PC that did this sophisticated snooping are pretty small.   However it is possible.  And it has absolutely nothing to do with whether the web site is a secure site or not.  Like I said earlier a "secure site" is secure against interception BETWEEN your PC and the site.  Spyware (typically marketing oriented) operates WITHIN your PC and reports findings back to its control centre via its own channels.

I didn't mean to sound alarmist-just wanted to point out the misunderstanding between SSL and spyware. In answer to your question, I would say that the risk of using your credit card is acceptable.  If you are still worried, ensure that your PC is as clean as possible.  Run Windows Update, install a decent commercial virus scanner and adware/spyware eliminator. 

Sorry no image available
Posted by DMG-194481 - 13 years ago

So Legend what are you saying? That any time I submit details even on a secure site, there might be spy ware that can pick this up. Now what.... no more internet shopping? The only save way is not to use your credit card or is it still worth taking the risk?

Thanks for replying.

Sorry no image available