DISCUSSIONS

Find the answers to many of your expat questions here

View Latest Posts

You're missing out...

As a member you can enjoy exclusive info and offers.

REGISTER NOW

It's me again

Posted by Baby Boy - Created: 14 years ago
0 0
Sorry no image available

7 replies (Showing replies: 1 to 7)

Sorry no image available
Posted by Black Cat-192495 - 14 years ago

Radical changes in lifestyle are not easy to handle. Some changes are even impossible for some people, especially if the difference in culture and attitude is really not to your taste. I'm sure we all have changes we just can't adapt to.Personally I adapted well to the Riviera and even understood quite quickly the French mentality, which to some extent I even adopted for myself. My ex-wife was French and even though I'm not very good at languages I became fluent through emersion which was a vital move. It's a lot easier once you've grasped the language. Unlike a lot of people on this forum I actually like the French (on the whole). If I didn't, I'd leave in a flash.I would echo the advice given here. Sit down together and talk about it. Make up your minds whether, together, you have the strength and willingness to overcome the obstacles. If so, then keep that in mind and forge ahead in unison.If not, then start figuring out how to seek out a more suitable lifestyle somewhere else and make the move (back to the States, maybe? Or there are plenty of other places that might suit the both of you more). The strain this seems to be putting on your couple seems too severe to endure.Good Luck!PS: Drink - or any other mind-altering substance - is most certainly not a good solution.

Sorry no image available
Posted by tunnbrodsrulle - 14 years ago