DISCUSSIONS

Find the answers to many of your expat questions here

View Latest Posts

You're missing out...

As a member you can enjoy exclusive info and offers.

REGISTER NOW

School registration advice

Posted by 2004sparkles-193110 - Created: 14 years ago
0 0

I am new to the musiciens area of Nice (Avenue George Clemenceau) and want to register my son to start school for September.

Where do I start looking for school records, catchment areas and registration?

Does anyone have insider info on any of the schools local to me here?

Please email me with advice and tips.

Thanks

Sorry no image available

6 replies (Showing replies: 1 to 6)

Sorry no image available
Posted by Di-193144 - 14 years ago

Very thoughtful reply; your comments are well taken as is the suggestion. 

Cheers

Sorry no image available
Posted by yjme-181229 - 14 years ago

Speaking from the experience I have (a lot), it is not a good idea to listen too much to schools' reputations for one very simple reason.  The school is as good as it's director and teachers are. Because there is regular movement in every school, a bad reputation can very quickly turn into a good one and vice versa.  Some schools will have a higher population of immigrants which may be relative to the school's reputation, some schools may not have any facilities for English speakers, some schools are more artistically inclined, some schools prefer sports to be high on the agenda.