DISCUSSIONS

Find the answers to many of your expat questions here

View Latest Posts

You're missing out...

As a member you can enjoy exclusive info and offers.

REGISTER NOW

Sharing ADSL connection across home PC network

Posted by harpo-187362 - Created: 14 years ago
0 0
Sorry no image available

10 replies (Showing replies: 1 to 10)

Sorry no image available
Posted by islandofsand - 14 years ago

Great to see this - I am a so called expert and have to setup a D-Link router, wireless and IP webcam in Port Grimaud for a friend later this month and I wondered what the settings were! 

Kind regards

Sorry no image available
Posted by mikem-181687 - 14 years ago

Hey Rosbif, "my" current Dns is: 193.252.19.3 and is busy connecting me to Wanadoo as I type.

My secondary Dns is 80.10.246.130 which was supplied by the server, the other one you list does not exist in my setup.

This is a configuration that works and was set up for me by Welcome Informatique in Cannes.

It may well vary from area to area and router type.

mikem

Sorry no image available
Posted by Rosbif-185958 - 14 years ago

Hey Mikem,

The current Wanadoo DNS servers are:

80.10.246.3 ( dns-adsl-gpe2-a.wanadoo.fr )

80.10.246.130 ( dns-adsl-gpe2-b.wanadoo.fr )

193.252.19.3 is actually ns3.wanadoo.fr  which should be busy doing other things ;)

Cheers

Rosbif 

Sorry no image available

Hello, the following settings are correct for Wanadoo / france telecom:

VPI / VCI    8 / 35

DNS           193.252.19.3

You should use PPPoE.

Harpo says he has one PC that sees the router, but no ADSL connection, therefore I have not addressed the network issue.

It would seem best to establish the ADSL first, then treat the network as a seperate issue.

mikem

Sorry no image available
Posted by TonyP-191937 - 14 years ago

I use Nerim  and a Draytek router, but they tell me that France Telecom uses VPI=8 VCI=35 PPPoE and VCmux.  They say PPPoA ought to work but better use PPPoE.