DISCUSSIONS

Find the answers to many of your expat questions here

View Latest Posts

You're missing out...

As a member you can enjoy exclusive info and offers.

REGISTER NOW

So how come everyone is here then?

Posted by GemG - Created: 14 years ago
0 0
Sorry no image available

3 replies (Showing replies: 1 to 3)

Sorry no image available
Posted by Geoff77 - 14 years ago

Further to Humptydingo/Aroncb's replies,  My wife and I have been happily settling down to the French way of life in Nice, for the last 18 months after cashing in on the UK property boom/selling up and quiting our safe but dull 9-5 routines for a much better life on the Cote d'Azur (stress levels Greatly reduced!) despite the usual hassles with French bureaucracy I feel we've made the right decision.We are both in our mid fifities, and as I had been visiting the south of France fairly regularly since the 1980's, on Vacance, to be able to live in Nice is a "dream come true"!  Work wise we don't work and live on a couple of modest insurance annuities sorted out before we moved here.Obviously our income has reduced considerably, but as long as the expenses continue to be met ok I'm happy-we dont' smoke,run a car or drink a great deal.

We live approx. 2 miles from the seafront just outside the "tourist catchment" area and have found most of the local people to be friendly/helpful to us, despite speaking only basic french. Also when having furniture/stuff  delivered to our address by shops-generally they arrive promptly on the agreed time and day with no fuss/delays.       

Geoff

Sorry no image available
Posted by Humptydingo-180377 - 14 years ago