DISCUSSIONS

Find the answers to many of your expat questions here

View Latest Posts

You're missing out...

As a member you can enjoy exclusive info and offers.

REGISTER NOW

the camargue

Posted by calcalino - Created: 14 years ago
0 0

can anyone please advise me the best time to visit the camargue (and also the worst)....i've heard that in a particular season it is overrun with mosquitoes (can't recall when it was)- look forward to input from you lovely anglo-info people

thanks

calcalino

Sorry no image available

5 replies (Showing replies: 1 to 5)

Sorry no image available
Posted by MikeP-180526 - 11 years ago

Someone has emailed me asking for information about the Camargue, I thought I may as well post my reply to them here so that anyone else who is interested in this lovely place can benefit from this too. I'm not really an expert on it, it just happens to be a place I like very much. We've been a few times, we've stayed in Aigues Mortes (Hotel Victoria) and Arles (don't remember the hotel name), and in Les Ste. Maries (again, don't remember the name) and also on a ranch just outside Les Stes Maries, and whilst I would be able to find it, I can't remember the name. Most of the ranch/estancia places welcome - and I mean welcome rather than tolerate - children, so your little ones will be fine. The people there are really kind. One of our party was ill and they went to endless trouble to make sure she was comfortable, offered to call a doctor, cook special food, and so on - very typical of the area. I suppose for a long weekend you might want to book, but the place is so relaxed that whenever we've been we've just driven around, found somewhere we like the look of, and got a room. By the way the overnights aren't cheap - I seem to remember the last time we stayed in an Estancia it was about €100 a night - but that was inclusive and it was well worth it. I only mention this as some people expect to find it all at around €20 a night! I can't tell you a lot