DISCUSSIONS

Find the answers to many of your expat questions here

View Latest Posts

You're missing out...

As a member you can enjoy exclusive info and offers.

REGISTER NOW

EDF Tariffs

Posted by wittym - Created: 6 years ago
0 0
Sorry no image available

3 replies (Showing replies: 1 to 3)

Sorry no image available
Posted by Aikipaulo - 6 years ago

I just looked at the EDF web site and either the price has changed or I did my calculations wrong, there's only just over 10 euros a year difference in subscription between day/night tarifs on a 45 amp subscription (that most people have) and normal tarifs so OTH is right, its worth going for day/night tarifs (heures creuses/heures pleins).

Sorry no image available
Posted by ouch that hurt !-230853 - 6 years ago

This may be true I don't know enough about electrics, & switching on & off is something I used to do when I was a student, painfull !However, you have to pay the electrician & cost it into the equation ! I wd just ring up EDF & ask what contract you have, & get it adjusted to day/night, Your hot water will be heated at cheap rate, & you then only use you washing machine & dish washing at night rate, & any other high consuming jobs like pyrolyse for the oven.....you will ultimately save money.

Sorry no image available
Posted by Aikipaulo - 6 years ago

Hi wittym,
The device decides when electricity is sent to your water heater (called a contacteur in French), according to the signal sent by EDF. If you are subscribed for the tariff jour/nuit, EDF will send electricity to the device during the off-peak, night periods, when electricity is less expensive, and the device works like a switch, switching the water heater on during this period, and swithching it off the rest of the time.