DISCUSSIONS

Find the answers to many of your expat questions here

View Latest Posts

You're missing out...

As a member you can enjoy exclusive info and offers.

REGISTER NOW

Novice gardener

Posted by StephanieC-185633 - Created: 14 years ago
0 0

Hi I am completely new to gardening and thought i was doing quite well untill I found tiny white "cotton wool" like insects on my plants I have tried a spray to kill them but it does'nt seem to have done the trick. Please help as i am afraid of loosing all my lovely plants. bye

Sorry no image available

10 replies (Showing replies: 1 to 10)

Sorry no image available
Posted by tessa-179840 - 14 years ago

Thanks for the help with the leaf hoppers... I've got the upper hand now thanks to the savon de marseille spray mixture .... (although a note for other incompetants like me - a teaspoon of chopped soap is quite enough for a half litre spay bottle - don't chop up quarter of a 500gr bar!).

New question about strange spider webs: all the shrubs, hedges, ivy covered slopes etc around the neighbourhood are covered with thick, tough, sticky spider webs. I haven't see this in previous summers..... any ideas? And if I want to get rid of them? (they make everything look sad and neglected).....

tess

Sorry no image available

Thanks irishman, that's the one! Haven't tried playing with them although there is a fairly chummy one that popped in yesterday and hopped about my desk........ so maybe I'll cancel my weekend activities and stay in and play, rather than spray......tess

Sorry no image available
Posted by szozu - 14 years ago

As always, a picture is worth a thousand words! The little blighters look like grains of rice.

Lana

Sorry no image available
Posted by StephanieC-185633 - 14 years ago